Let us now understand how the verse mentioned in the last posting gives the bijas of Panchadasi. Kaaman (ka) yoni: (a) kamala (e)vajrabhanir(la)-guha (hrim)ha (ha)sa (sa) madharishva (ka)abram (ha) indraha (la). Punar (punar means again) guha (hrim) sakala (sa,ka,la) maayayaa cha (hrim) pooshyaesha vishwamaadhaathi vidya”. With this we get all the 15 bijas of Panchadasi. Now let us understand the first kuta ‘vakbhava kuta’. This kuta has five bijas ka-a-e-la-hrim. The entire three kutas end with ‘hrim’ and this hrim is called hrilekha. A lot of importance is attached to this hrilekha which is also called as maya bija. Vakbhava kuta is also known as agni kandam and indicates jnana shakthi of Lalithambigai. ‘Ka’ means Brahma, the creator. ‘a’ means Sarawathi the goddess of jnana. ‘e’ means Lakshmi, ‘la’ means Indra and ‘hrim’ means the merger of Shiva and Shakthi.

The bija ‘ka’ is the root of kama bija ‘kleem’. ‘ka’ also bestows peace and prosperity to the sadhaka. The next bija ‘a’ prevents all types of evil events to the sadaka. ‘e’ bestows wealth and all good things to sadhaka. The bija ‘la’ gives victory to the sadhaka. Thus the first four bijas give peace, prosperity, prevention of misfortunes, auspiciousness and a status like Indra or also could mean victory to sadaka in the all the steps he puts forward. (Indra is the chief of all devas and devis and is victorious in all the battles against demons). The last bija of the first kuta is ‘hrim’. This is also known as hrilekha. This bija has a peculiar form. You will be surprised to know that ‘hrim’ is made up of 12 letters. h+r+i+m+and a bindu. Bindu is a dot on the letter m. But this is not just a dot. This dot comprises of ardachandra, rodhini, nada, nadanta, shakthi, vyapika, samana and unmani. Beginning from bindu and including these eight , is nadaha (total 9). This nadaha comprises of two ‘v’s one above the other (each ‘v’ has two lines and two ‘v’s together have four lines) and four dots each at the open ends of ‘v’ and one dot on the top these four dots. This is the combination of the bija ‘hrim’.

What we have discussed about the bija ‘hrim’ is not complete. But it is enough to understand this much at this point of time. More than these ‘v’s and dots, the pronunciation is important. As a matter of fact the entire vakbhava kuta consists of 18 alphabets. There is no point in discussing such minute details. There are specifications of length of timing for pronunciations of each bija. The entire kuta should be pronounced in 11 matras (a matra is the time taken for a winking, possibly lesser than a second). There are guidelines for pronouncing the bijas. For example pronunciation should begin from the throat and released to the ether through mouth and nose. The pronunciation of vakbhava kuta should commence from muladhara chakra and end at anahat chakra, contemplating the entire kuta as the fire. The second and third kutas will be discussed in the next posting.

Other Important Articles:

Pancadasi Mantra - पञ्चदशी मन्त्र - Part 1

Panchadasi The Supreme Mantra - Part 3 

Lalithambigai's Panchadasi Mantra

An analysis of Panchadasi Mantras

Panchadasi and Turya Gayatri Mantra