Vishudi-chakra-nilaya विशुद्धि-चक्र-निलया (475)

Before we proceed with the next 60 namas, it is to be understood that these namas do not refer Lalithambigai, but Her important assistants known as yoginis. They refer only to the presiding yoginis of kundalini chakras, through which Shakthi passes through, to reach Shiva at the crown chakra. There are six chakras that are subtle in nature in the spinal cord, beginning with the base chakra or muladhara and ending with ajna chakra or third eye. The crown or the sahasrara is not called as chakra. Vak devis commence their description of these chakras in detail.

Vishudi chakra is also known as throat chakra. Vishudi chakra is smoky purple in colour. It appears like a sixteen petal lotus with sixteen vowels of Sanskrit with bindus (dot) inscribed on each of the petals. Each of these chakras has one predominant bija and bija for vishudi chakra is ‘ham’. This bija is white in colour and covered by akash tatwa and seated on a white elephant. Vak Devis begin with vishudi chakra, through which speech is delivered in the form of vaikhari (nama 371). The descriptions of these chakras begin with the name of the chakra and ends with the name of the yogini who is the presiding deity of that chakra. For example, this nama says ‘vishudi-chakra-nilaya’ which means ‘she resides in vishudi chakra’. But who resides in this chakra is mentioned only in nama 484, which says ‘Dakinishvari’, the name of the yogini who controls this chakra. Unless all the namas (normally 7 to 10 namas for a chakra) pertaining to a particular chakra are studied, understanding of a particular chakra will remain incomplete.

Arakthavarna आरक्तवर्णा (476)

The yogini’s (Dakini) complexion is mild red.

Trilochana त्रिलोचना (477)

Dakini has three eyes.

Khatvangadi-praharana खट्वाङ्गादि-प्रहरणा (478)

‘Katvangam’ is a club fitted with human skull.

Vadanaika-samanvita वदनैक-समन्विता (479)

She has a single face. The order of priority of the chakras is based upon the number of faces each yogini has. Dakini is single faced and she represents akash tatwa.

Payasanna-priya पायसन्न-प्रिया (480)

Payasam is a kind of semi solid sweet normally offered to gods and goddesses on festive occasions. This is made out of rice or cereal cooked with sugar and milk. This nama says that yogini of vishudi chakra Dakini is fond of this sweet.

Tvakstha त्वक्स्था (481)

She (Dakini) presides over skin and sensation of touch. Skin being the outermost covering of a living being is another reason for Vak Devis to commence the narration of the chakras commencing from Vishudi chakra.

Pashuloka-bhanyankari पशुलोक-भयन्करी (482)

Pashu means those who are ignorant. Here ignorance means lack of knowledge about the Brahman or those who are afflicted with duality. Dakinishwari is frightful to those who are ignorant. This type of ignorance is explained in Brahadranyaka Upanishad (I.iv.10) thus.”Even the gods cannot prevail against him, for he becomes their self. While he who worships another god thinking, ‘He is one, and I am another’ does not know. He is like an animal to the gods.”

The same Upanishad further explains about the fear arising out of ignorance. “He was afraid. Therefore, people are afraid to be alone. He though ‘If there is nothing else but me, what am I afraid of?’ From that alone his fear was gone, for what was there to fear? It is from a second entity that fear comes” (I.iv.2).

Taittiriya Upanishad also explains this fear (II.7). “When a person rests fearlessly in that Self, he is no longer afraid of anything. So long as he sees the least difference between himself and the Cosmic Self, he is not altogether free from fear. A person may be learned, but if he still thinks he is separate from Brahman, Brahman itself becomes a source of terror.”

The presiding deity of vishudi chakra Dakinishvari causes this fear arising out of ignorance. If proper steps are initiated to realise the Brahman within, such sort of fear can be overpowered which otherwise will remain as a huge hindrance while pursuing the path of spirituality. Nama 354 is ‘pashu pasha vimochini’ referred to Lalithambigai and this nama refers to Dakinishvari. There is difference between these two namas. In 354 Lalithambigai’s ability to remove the ignorance is mentioned, whereas in this nama Dakishivari is simply mentioned as the goddess who induces a sense of fear amongst the ignorant. This difference indicates the quality of the Supreme Brahman and an ordinary yogini.

Amrtadi-maha-shakthi-samvrta अमृतादि-महा-शक्ति-संवृता (483)

Dakinishvari is surrounded by sixteen shakthis. Each of these sixteen shakthis presides over each of the sixteen petals. Each vowel is represented by a shakthi. Names of these shakthis begin with all the sixteen vowels. For example, alphabet ‘a’ is presided over by shakthi Amrutha, the next vowel ‘aa’ is presided over by ‘Aakarshani’, etc. Shakthis in this context refer to the lower level of goddesses controlled by Dakinishvari. This nama specifically says that these shakthis are powerful by using the word ‘maha’ which means great.

Dakinishvari डाकिनीश्वरी (484)

The name of yogini who has been described from nama 475 to 484 (10 namas) is Dakinishvari, the presiding deity of vishudi chakra.