This is the third and concluding part of our discussion on “Panchadasi”, the supreme mantra of Lalithambigai. The second kuta is kamaraja kuta or Madhya kuta is to be meditated upon Lalithambigai’s neck to hip. This kuta has the highest number of bijas viz 6. They are ha-sa-ka-ha-la-hrim. Out of these we have dealt with, ka, la and hrim, in the first kuta and let us assume the same meaning for this kuta. There are very detailed interpretations and analysis for each of these bijas and we are not going into the same at this stage. We have two new bijas in this kuta. Out of the new bijas ‘ha’ has been repeated twice. The first ‘ha’ means Shiva; the second ‘ha’ means akash element (Soundarya Lahari 32 refers this second ‘ha’ as the sun) and ‘sa’ in this place means Vishnu. With reference to the five basic elements, ‘sa’ means air element.

The bija ‘ha’ is also known as eunuch bija. Probably this is the reason why the bija ‘hrim’ refers to the union of Shiva and Shakthi. The ‘hrim’ bija is also known as the maya bija. In the first kuta, Brahma was mentioned, as the first kuta refers to creation. In this kuta of sustenance, Vishnu is mentioned as he is the lord of sustenance. It is interesting to note that there are 22 bijas in this kuta. This kuta should be pronounced in a time frame of 11.50 matra. This kuta is to be contemplated from anahat chakra to ajna chakra in the form brightness that is equivalent to millions of suns. This kuta is also called surya kandam and forms the second act of Brahman viz. the sustenance. Since it is associated with sustenance, desire is attached to this kuta. The third and the last kuta which is called shakthi kuta, have only four bijas. This kuta is to be meditated upon the portion between hip and the feet of Lalithambigai. The four bijas are sa-ka-la-hrim. The first kuta has five bijas, second kuta six bijas and the third has only four bijas. Possibly this could mean that creating is the most difficult act and dissolution is the easiest act. It can be noticed that two ‘ha’ bijas in the madhya kuta is removed in this shakthi kuta. Let us take the meanings of these bijas from the earlier two kutas. This kuta has 18 bijas. If we add the total of all the three kutas we get 58 bijas (varnas) in the whole of Panchadasi. This kuta is to be pronounced in a time frame of 8.50 matras.

The entire Panchadasi mantra should be pronounced in 31 matras. In the case of continuous recitation of this mantra, without leaving time gap between the kutas only 29 matras are prescribed. But the time factor does not apply when the mantra is recited mentally. This kuta is to be contemplated from anahat chakra to the middle of the forehead in the forms of brightness comparable to the millions of moons. There are nine stages from anahat to the middle of the forehead. These nine stages are nothing but the nine components of nadaha which we have discussed under ‘hrim’ in the previous posting. This kuta is called Chandra kandam and forms the third act of Brahman, the dissolution. The dissolution is represented by the bija ‘la’ which means the destructive weaponries viz. vajra (thunder bolt), chakra (the wheel. Possibly meaning the sudarsana chakra of Vishnu), trishul or trident of Shiva and the gada of Sri Vishnu. There are three ‘hrim’s in Panchadasi. As we have seen earlier, hrim represents union of Shiva and Shakthi. Each of the three ‘hrim’s represent creation, sustenance and dissolution. The usage of ‘hrim’ three times in this mantra confirms our discussion that Shiva and Shakthi are interdependent.

The one without the other will become action less. Shankara also talks about the bijas of Panchadasi in a secretive manner in Soundarya Lahari verse 32. This is more or less based on the verse which we have discussed in our posting Lalithambigai’s Panchadasi mantra. In the second kuta out of the two ‘ha’ bijas, Shankara means sun instead of akasha element. The interpretations of the bijas differ from scholar to scholar. It is also pertinent to note that chanting of one round of Panchadasi mantra is equivalent to three rounds of recitation of Poorna Gayathri mantra. Poorna Gayathri means an addition of ‘paro rajase savadom’ as the last line in addition to the existing three lines. With this we conclude our discussions on the great mantra “Panchadasi”. The earlier two postings also discussed about this mantra. For your comments and feedback please mail me at

Other Important Articles:

Pancadasi Mantra - पञ्चदशी मन्त्र - Part 1

Panchadasi Mantra Explained - Part 2

Lalithambigai's Panchadasi Mantra

An analysis of Panchadasi Mantras

Panchadasi and Turya Gayatri Mantra