The next five namas 85-89 discuss the mantra form of Lalithambigai. The main mantra of Lalithambigai is Panchadasi which consists of 15 bijas. A bija need not be a single alphabet in Sanskrit. It could be a combination of alphabets also. For example ‘sa’ is a bija and it is a single alphabet. If you take ‘hrim’ it is also a bija but a combination of many alphabets. Each alphabet in Sanskrit has a meaning. If you take the first letter ‘a’ in Sanskrit alphabet, it means so many things. It is the origin of OM; it also means unification, non-destruction, etc. The interpretation of meaning for such bijas mostly depends on the context in which it is used. Since we are going to discuss about the Panchadasi mantra in the next five verses, instead of discussing it under various namas, it is better for us to discuss and know the secrecy of the Panchadasi mantra as whole. Panchadasi means 15. Since this mantra has fifteen letters it is called as Panchadasi. The explanation and understanding of this mantra is certainly beyond our capacity. But let us try to have a broader understanding of this mantra.

Mantra consists of two phonetics man+tra. Man means repetition and tra means protection. By repeating a mantra, the sadaka is protected. No mantra will fructify, if the meanings of the bijas in the mantra are not known to us. Mantra is the second stage in self realization, the first one being external rituals. Each mantra has dhyan verse. This dhyan sloka or verse gives a description of the deity, making it easier for the sadaka (practitioner) to visualize the form of the deity. When sadaka is able to visulaize the deity, the next step is to infuse power to the concerned deity by chanting the mantra. It is like consecration. After the prescribed number of recitation and after performing purascharana (ritual involving japa, homa, feeding, tarpana and marjana), the sadaka will have the vision of the deity concerned. We will discuss about purascharana and the effects of mantras separately, not in this series.

Panchadasi mantra consists of three lines of bijas and each line is called ‘kuta’ or group. Though there are different meanings for kuta, I would like to go with the meaning intricate in this context, as each bija is involved with the potency of this mantra in its own way. The three kutas are known as vakbhava kuta, kamaraja kuta or madhya kuta and shakthi kuta. Vakbhava kuta represents Lalithai’s face, kamaraja kuta represents the portion between Her neck and hip and the last one shakthi kuta represents the portion below Her hip. The whole form of Lalithambigai is made up of these three kutas. This is one of the reasons why Panchadasi is considered as very powerful. These three kutas are joined in such a way that an inverted triangle is formed around Her yoni. This is why this mantra is considered as highly secretive. Vakbhava kuta is the right side of this triangle, kamaraja kuta, the upper side and Shakthi kuta forms the left side of the triangle.

We will discuss more about this later. Vakbhava kuta consists of five bijas viz. ka-a-e-la-hrim. Madhya kuta consists of six bijas ha-sa-ka-ha-la-hrim. Shakthi kuta consists of four bijas sa-ka-la-hrim. Thus we have 15 bijas of Panchadasi. This mantra is considered as the most secretive mantra of Lalithambigai. As a matter of fact this mantra is not revealed by these bijas, but by the following verse in Sanskrit. “Kaaman yoni: kamala vajrabhanir-guhahasa madharishvabra mintraha. Punar guha sakala maayayaa cha pooshyaesha vishwamaadhaathi vidya”. This is the verse where in the fifteen bijas of Panchadasi are hidden. This is a clear indication about highly secretive nature of this mantra. We will discuss about the importance of each bija in our next posting, though it is not appropriate for us to discuss the nature and meaning of this mantra.

Other Important Articles:

Pancadasi Mantra - पञ्चदशी मन्त्र - Part 1

Panchadasi Mantra Explained - Part 2

Panchadasi The Supreme Mantra - Part 3 

An analysis of Panchadasi Mantras

Panchadasi and Turya Gayatri Mantra